The Countries of Eastern Europe

The eastern region of Europe is called Eastern Europe. Experts say that there is no consistent definition of the precise area it covers, partly because the term has a wide range of geopolitical, geographical, ethnic, cultural, and socioeconomic connotations. Russia, located in Eastern Europe, is both the largest and most populous country of Europe, spanning roughly 40% of the continent's total landmass, with over 15% of its total population.

According to the Center for Educational Technologies at Wheeling Jesuit University, there are "almost as many definitions of Eastern Europe as there are scholars of the region". A related United Nations paper adds that "every assessment of spatial identities is essentially a social and cultural construct".

One definition describes Eastern Europe as a cultural entity: the region lying in Europe with the main characteristics consisting of Slavic, Greek, Byzantine, Eastern Orthodox, and some Ottoman cultural influences. Another definition was created during the Cold War and used more or less alike with the term Eastern Bloc. A similar definition names the formerly communist European states outside the Soviet Union as Eastern Europe. Such definitions are often seen as outdated, but they are still sometimes used for statistical purposes. The contemporary developments define eastern Europe as Baltic states, Caucasus, Former Soviet states, Central Europe, and Southeast Europe. To be compliant with Orpe Human Rights Advocates' mission, we invite you to check on the box below to see consider details of political stabilities, socioeconomic developments status, associated country security level in terms of each governments' duty of care towards their own peoples, democracy, observance of international human rights law, transparency and accountability.