• There are 9 countries that can be considered as being part of Central Europe.

  • The Holy Roman Empire and Austro-Hungarian Empire both controlled large parts of Central Europe.

  • Countries considered part of Central Europe are also considered to be part of Western Europe, Eastern Europe, or Southern Europe.

  • Germany is the largest and most populous country in Central Europe. Liechtenstein is the smallest and least populous.

  • All the countries of Central Europe, except Switzerland and Liechtenstein, are part of the European Union.

Central European Countries